News Photo
Women's Golf - Fri, May. 10, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) released the qualifiers for the 2013 NAIA Women's Golf National Championships on Thursday. The 19th annual event will take place at Wilderness Ridge Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb., May 21 – 24. First and second round pairings for the event will be announced Friday by 3 p.m. CDT.

The LCU women's golf team earns a No. 1 at-large berth in the NAIA Women's Golf National Championship. The Lady Chaps, who are ranked No.5 in the final NAIA top 25 poll, captured second place in the 2013 Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament title as well as one first place finish during the 2012-13 season. Lubbock Christian University finished in seventh place for their third consecutive top-10 finish in the 2012 National Championship Tournament a season ago.

Eighteen automatic qualifying teams punched their ticket with a team title in one of the NAIA's conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments, while 9 at-large selections, plus one host berth– determined using the final NAIA Women's Golf Coaches' Top 25 Poll – and nine individual qualifiers make up the 144-player field at this year's National Championships.

Among the qualifying teams is last year's national champion British Columbia. In 2012, the Thunderbirds defeated SCAD Savannah (Ga.) by two strokes. SCAD Savannah returns after earning an automatic berth by winning The Sun Conference Tournament. SCAD Savannah has been the top ranked team in the NAIA Women's Golf Coaches' Top 25 in each of the past four polls.

Nine individuals qualified including five automatics and four at-larges. To receive an individual automatic berth a player must win her respective conference tournament or regular-season individual title. The last automatic bid went to Jessica MacPhee, who is a 2012 All-Tournament Team returner. Teammates Christian Liggin and Sarah Gilliard of Coastal Georgia, Ava Lourenco of Biola (Calif.) and Trish Gibbons of College of Idaho, were selected by the national championships tournament committee.

2013 Women's Golf National Championships Team Qualifiers



Baker (Kan.)

Heart of America Athletic Tournament Champion

Bellevue (Neb.)

At-Large No. 8

Bethel (Ind.)

Crossroads League Tournament Champion

Bethel (Tenn.)

Unaffiliated Group No. 2 (GCAC/KIAC/TranSouth) Tournament Champion

British Columbia

Association of Indepndent Institutions Tournament Champion

Cal State San Marcos

At-Large No. 2

Concordia (Ore.)

Unaffiliated Group No. 1 (CalPac/Cascade/GSAC) Tournament Champion

Cumberlands (Ky.)

Mid-South Tournament Champion

Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)

Great Plains Athletic Tournament Champion

Doane (Neb.)

Host Berth

Embry-Riddle (Fla.)

At-Large No. 3

Grand View (Iowa)

Midwest Collegiate Tournament Champion

Lee (Tenn.)

Southern States Athletic Tournament Champion

Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

Frontier Tournament Champion

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

At-Large No. 9

Lubbock Christian (Texas)

At-Large No. 1

Madonna (Mich.)

Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Champion

Northwood (Fla.)

At-Large No. 7

Northwood (Texas)

Unaffiliated Group No. 3 (KCAC/RRAC) Tournament Champion

Oklahoma City

Sooner Athletic Tournament Champion

Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)

Unaffilated Group No. 4 (A.I.I./CCAC) Tournament Champion

SCAD Atlanta (Ga.)

Appalachian Athletic Tournament Champion

SCAD Savannah (Ga.)

The Sun Tournament Champion

USC Beaufort

At-Large No. 5

Victoria (B.C.)

At-Large No. 6

Wayland Baptist (Texas)

At-Large No. 4

William Woods (Mo.)

American Midwest Tournament Champion